Webinar Series - Quantitative Genetics Tools for Mapping Trait Variation to Mechanisms, Therapeutics, and Interventions

The NIDA Center of Excellence in Omics, Systems Genetics, and the Addictome has put together a webinar series, Quantitative Genetics Tools for Mapping Trait Variation to Mechanisms, Therapeutics, and Interventions. The goal of this series is to transverse the path from trait variance to QTL to gene variant to molecular networks to mechanisms to therapeutic and interventions. The target audience for this series are those new to the field of quantitative genetics, so please pass this information on to your trainees or colleagues.

Webinar #1 - Introduction to Quantitative Trait Loci (QTL) Analysis

Friday, May 8th, 2020
10am PDT/ 11am MDT/ 12pm CDT/ 1pm EDT

Goals of this webinar (trait variance to QTL):

  • Define quantitative trait locus (QTL)
  • Explain how genome scans can help find QTL

Presented by:
Dr. Saunak Sen
Professor and Chief of Biostatistics
Department of Preventative Medicine
University of Tennessee Health Science Center

Link to course material: [https://github.com/OSGA-OPAR/quant-genetics-webinars/blob/master/2020-05-08/README.md]

Webinar #2 – Mapping Addiction and Behavioral Traits and Getting at Causal Gene Variants with GeneNetwork

Friday, May 22nd. 2020 10am PDT/ 11am MDT/ 12pm CDT/ 1pm EDT

Goals of this webinar (QTL to gene variant):

  • Demonstrate mapping a quantitative trait using GeneNetwork (GN)
  • Explore GN tools to identify genes and genetics variants related to a QTL

Presented by:
Dr. Rob Williams
Professor and Chair
Department of Genetics, Genomics, and Informatics
University of Tennessee Health Science Center

Link to course material: [Coming Soon]

There is no fee associated with this webinar, but users are asked to register to receive the Zoom link and password.
Registration: https://bit.ly/osga_2020-05-22
After the presentation, the recording will be made available for download at http://opar.io
Any questions or comments, please contact Laura Saba, Laura.Saba at cuanschutz.edu